Leave a comment

school’s out for summer….

Well we got no choice
All the girls and boys
Makin all that noise
‘Cause they found new toys
Well we can’t salute ya
Can’t find a flag
If that don’t suit ya
That’s a dragSchool’s out for summer
School’s out forever
School’s been blown to pieces

No more pencils
No more books
No more teacher’s dirty looks

Well we got no class
And we got no principles
And we got no innocence
We can’t even think of a word that rhymes

School’s out for summer
School’s out forever
School’s been blown to pieces

No more pencils
No more books
No more teacher’s dirty looks

Out for summer
Out till fall
We might not go back at all

School’s out forever
School’s out for summer
School’s out with fever
School’s out completely

 

 

 

No offense to Mr Cooper but I was never a big fan of his or of that song. The rest of my generation seemed to like it a lot though. Alice Cooper got overplayed in my hood so I got sick of it quick. I will confess that I do know all the words to School’s Out. I can even do the head shake thing although the older I get the more it gives me a neck ache.  

I just smiled when I typed “hood”, I’ve been amusing myself and horrifying my sons by spicing up my vocabulary with deliberately old or mis-said hip words. That’ll teach em for calling me old.  

I wonder if my kids would enjoy the head shake 😀  We have a road trip to Syracuse tomorrow, I could try it out on them in the car and threaten to do it in pub-lic.

I have a feeling we’ll be listening to some classic Carlin on our ride. For a few years We were on the road quite a bit. Tourneys, camps, schools, clubs, meets.. we had to drive to get there so we listened to all the classic comedians. Our favorite is Carlin.

RIP George Carlin, you made us laugh more times than I can count.

 

My friend’s sons are asleep in my living room. Today’s their last full day of school. Tomorrow’s a half day and at this point they’re done learning. Every day for the past week they’ve gone off with empty bookbags and returned loaded down with all sorts of crap.

I remember hitting that point in grade school. Tests were done, desks were cleaned out, concerts were all suffered through, and Field Day was either a glorious success or a day we wanted to forget. It depended on which homeroom class you were.  The younger boy  who I watch did not have a good Field Day this year. He was a bit grumpity on Friday.

All we did in class the last week of school was clean the classrooms for the teachers. Free labor was easier than trying to keep the attention of one eight year old, let alone twenty eight.  Maybe my teachers weren’t so dumb after all.

We knew we were home free when all the papers from the past year were in piles on the teacher’s desk, waiting to be taken. School was officially done. We each grabbed our’s to bring home. Then we’d start bringing everything home. Crayons, empty paste containers, pencil boxes, art shirts, things with macaroni and spray paint**. 

By the time the school bus got to my stop the floor was lined in dropped school papers. I have no idea why I took it all home, it went from my desk to my locker, to the bus, to the garbage, although sometimes it skipped the middle steps. It depended on whether I thought it would be good to remind my parents of my year long grades. Some years it seemed wiser to throw them away in the big wheely garbage can by the lockers.  

The very last day the teacher would treat us all to paper cups of Hawiian Punch and cookies and she’d hand out mimeographed** certificates with our name written on the ‘name line’ and if she wasn’t too cheap, a sticker or two. 

We got pencils one year. They said ‘remember to read’.  Those were keepers.  I know I kept mine until High School when I threw away a lot of my mementos and memories in an attempt to grow up.  

As we got older we showed less excitement. For us school officially ended with WCMF playing ‘School’s out’ Then we knew we were set to be as bored at home as we had claimed to be in school. 

This morning when I woke up the kids to send them off they were both excited about having the summer off.  They can’t wait to be out.  They claim to hate school and want it to be done forever.

 

I’m willing to bet anyone $5 that by this time Friday one of them will have said “I’m bored”..

any takers?

 

** For you younger readers <coughRenecough> they used to let us play with spray paint, model car paint, and all sorts of lethal glues. We also got to sniff fresh mimeographed sheets… that explains a lot doesn’t it?    

 

Leave a Reply

